Public Access Barristers

Public Access team members

Simon Laws QC

Year Of Call : 1991

Simon Laws QC has practised exclusively in criminal law for 27 years. He represents both the prosecution and the defence.

“He has a really good reputation for his work in the area.”
Chambers and Partners 2018

simon.laws@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Paul Dunkels QC

Year Of Call : 1972

Since becoming a QC in 1993 Paul Dunkels has prosecuted and defended in all types of serious crime, including cases of murder, manslaughter, fraud, drugs importation and supply and sexual offences.

“He’s a hugely experienced silk who knows it all and is a beautiful advocate.”
Chambers and Partners 2018

paul.dunkels@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Andrew Eaton Hart

Year Of Call : 1989

Andrew regularly accepts instructions in various speciality disciplines. He has an interest and expertise in boundary disputes and other land-related claims, including disputes over rights of way, easements and Highway infringement.

andrew.eatonhart@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Adrian Chaplin

Year Of Call : 1990

Adrian is a highly effective and sought-after advocate with extensive experience of heavy-weight and sensitive cases before a broad range of courts and tribunals.
He advises in criminal, misconduct, regulatory and coroner’s court work. He is experienced in appeal cases and judicial review.

adrian.chaplin@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Hugh Cornford

Year Of Call : 1994

Hugh has extensive experience acting for Local Authorities, parents, grandparents, Guardians and proposed special guardians in care proceedings, including representing young and vulnerable parents, clients with learning difficulties and clients with chronic health conditions.

hugh.cornford@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Lara Spencer

Year Of Call : 2000

Lara has represented both Claimants and Defendants in a variety of matters over the last 18 years. She has also given numerous talks and seminars in civil litigation to CPD providers and assisted in writing civil litigation material for online CPD providers.

lara.spencer@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Theresa McCormack

Year Of Call : 2002

Theresa is instructed in multi-day final hearings at which the Court determines whether children should be placed in care of the Local Authority, remain in the care of the Local Authority, be returned to their parents, placed with other family members or have placement orders made in respect of them. 

theresa.mccormack@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Helen Bray

Year Of Call : 2004

Helen regularly representing parents in Private Law proceedings where there are disputes relating to both residence and contact involving complex allegations of sexual abuse, domestic violence and neglect.

helen.bray@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Barry White

Year Of Call : 2004

Barry is an experienced junior, who defends serious criminal cases including violence, sexual offences, dishonesty and drugs. He also prosecutes and defends in regulatory & quasi-criminal matters.

barry.white@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Bathsheba Cassel

Year Of Call : 2005

Bathsheba is a criminal barrister with a wealth of experience across all areas of complex and serious crime.

bathsheba.cassel@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Joss Ticehurst

Year Of Call : 2006

Joss Ticehurst is instructed to defend and prosecute in cases involving the most serious criminal offences in the Crown Court, particularly those relating to allegations of rape, attempted murder, multi-defendant cases involving drugs and murder, and multi-defendant cases of fraud and drug conspiracies.

joss.ticehurst@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Will Parkhill

Year Of Call : 2015

Regularly instructed to defend in matters involving the most serious violence including two recent allegations of Murder.

will.parkhill@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Louise Asprey

Year Of Call : 2007

Louise has a diverse practice and represents both landlords and tenants, ensuring that she is familiar with the concerns and issues troubling both sides. She regularly deals with possession cases arising out of mortgage repossession claims and allegations of antisocial behaviour.

louise.asprey@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Felicity Payne

Year Of Call : 2010

Felicity is a common law barrister with an established and varied practice in all aspects of criminal and civil law. Felicity is thorough, practical and robust in her approach, whilst remaining personable.

felicity.payne@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Laura Searle

Year Of Call : 2011

Laura is a common law barrister with an established practice in civil and family. She is a personable and approachable advocate who prides herself on going the extra mile for her clients and offering sound, pragmatic legal advice. She has studied and worked internationally in France, Brussels, Luxembourg and New Zealand and is a Denning and Eastham Scholar of Lincoln’s Inn.

laura.searle@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile

Emmi Wilson

Year Of Call : 2013

Emmi is a mixed common law barrister with established practices in all aspects of family, crime and civil. Emmi joined Walnut House in September 2014 having successfully completed a twelve-month pupillage in chambers, and since then has continued to enjoy a busy mixed practice. Emmi prides herself on being a personable and persuasive advocate who is both thorough and robust in her approach.

emmi.wilson@walnuthouse.co.uk View Profile